Compassion and Commitment to Justice

Legal Advocates You Can Believe In


Your Values Are Ours
Our team believes in and focuses on the same values you do. We believe in truth, justice, dedication, and compassion. We fight against those that do wrong to others.
$68M Cases Mediated
We're dedicated to advocating for those in need and have obtained compensation for our clients totaling over $68M. We always fight for maximum compensation.
24+ Years Experience
Between our attorneys, our firm has a wealth of experience and expertise both inside and outside of the courtroom, totaling more than 24 years of experience.

Five Facts You Should Know About Workers’ Compensation in South Carolina

If you’ve been injured at work, the last thing you want to deal with is complex paperwork and red tape. You may be wondering if you even qualify for workers’ compensation in South Carolina. The good news is that, in most cases, you probably do.

The workers’ compensation system is designed to provide benefits to employees who are injured or become ill as a result of their job. Workers’ compensation covers medical expenses and replacement income if you are unable to work. In some cases, it can also provide death benefits to surviving family members.

Keep reading to learn five important facts about workers’ compensation in South Carolina:

You Are Probably Eligible for Workers’ Compensation in South Carolina

In South Carolina, most employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. This means that, in most cases, you will be covered by workers’ compensation if you are injured at work. There are a few exceptions, however. For example, some small businesses and certain types of employees (such as independent contractors) are not required to have workers’ compensation insurance.

You Must Report Your Injury Within 90 Days

If you are injured at work, you must report your injury to your employer within 90 days. If you fail to do so, you may forfeit your right to workers’ compensation benefits.

You Have a Limited Time to File a Claim

After you report your injury, you have two years to file a workers’ compensation claim. If you do not file within this time frame, you will likely be unable to recover any benefits.

You May Be Able to Choose Your Own Doctor

In South Carolina, you are typically able to choose your own doctor for workers’ compensation purposes. However, your employer may require you to see a specific doctor for the first 30 days after your injury.

You May Be Entitled to More Than Just Medical Benefits

Workers’ compensation in South Carolina can provide more than just medical benefits. You may also be entitled to replacement income if you are unable to work and death benefits if you pass away as a result of your injuries.

These are just a few of the most important facts you should know about workers’ compensation in South Carolina. If you have been injured at work, it is important to speak with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney who can help you understand your rights and ensure that you receive the full benefits you are entitled to.

Contact our law firm today at 803-219-8870 to book a consultation with our team and get the legal advice and representation you need.

Awards & Recognition